More Protein, Less Candy

That’s what I’m telling myself anyway. Protein is good, candy is bad — right? I mean, it is almost Halloween anyway. And the chocolate just seems to be staring me down every which way I turn.

Chocolate never listens to me.

Chocolate never listens to me.

Luckily, the friendly people at NuZest sent me some packets of protein to try (they must have heard of my struggle!) and I played around with some different recipes while I fought my chocolate craving.

The first recipe I tried was a mocha recipe with their cappuccino flavored protein powder. I had never tried coffee flavored protein before, and since I love ALL THE COFFEE, this one had to be first.

It's like a 50V battery... in a drink.

It’s like a 50V battery… in a drink.

I mixed about a cup of cold brew coffee with the cappuccino protein powder and a splash of milk. Threw in a few ice cubes and blended. The directions on the packet say to shake in a shaker bottle, but we all know how well I follow directions…

The flavor was great. Not gritty, no weird aftertaste, and the best part — the ingredients list is very short. This is possibly the cleanest protein I’ve tried so far. The shake ended up being “frostier” than I like, which sometimes happens when I blend protein with just liquid and ice. I predicted adding fruit to a shake would help with that, and I was right.

The next recipe I tried was with the smooth vanilla flavor. I added some orange juice and a very ripe banana, plus a little ice. Oh yeahhh, that gave me the smooth consistency I like. The flavor was amazing. Like an orange dreamsicle without all the extra calories and junk ingredients.

Finally, I decided to step outside of the box with the chocolate protein powder and make a snack instead of a shake. My kiddos love “energy balls” and I was thrilled to be able to make a snack for them that didn’t have extra weird ingredients.

I mixed one packet of NuZest rich chocolate  protein, 1/4 cup rolled oats, 1/4 cup crunchy peanut butter, and 1 Tbsp honey in a bowl and stirred until the spoon was no longer effective. Then I used my hands to mash it all together and form little balls of yumminess.

These won’t last long at all…

My completely un-uniform method of rolling out these energy balls ended up making about 10 bites. That’s just enough for us to snack on for one day. Normally I would double or triple the recipe and save some for later. I would also refrigerate them so the peanut butter and honey became a little more solid… But when your snack smells and tastes this good, you just skip the whole refrigeration step. 😉

Thanks to NuZest for allowing me to try out this tasty, clean, vegan, soy-free protein! I am always looking for a great protein product to try since I don’t typically eat a lot of meat. This is a great protein powder, and one I would highly recommend! If you want to check out NuZest protein for yourself, head over to their website. They have a lot more recipes, and their own version of energy balls as well. 😉

Phoenix Fitness wants to know: What’s your favorite protein snack? 

8 thoughts on “More Protein, Less Candy

  1. melanie says:

    All the coffee! Love that. Lol! That combo actually sounds really good. I don’t usually like protein powders because they always taste gritty to me. But that looks delicious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

