The Day I Registered for the Beachbody Classic 2015…

Classic 2

So I might have kind of sort of lost my mind…

Not even two weeks ago, I wrote a blog post about signing up for a half-marathon that was only 8 weeks away. I’m in pretty decent shape although I haven’t been running consistently in the past year, so this goal was already somewhat lofty. I was pretty confident I could train to be able to run it though, so I registered and created my plan. Since then, I’ve been running, lifting, and cross training so that I have the strength and stamina I need to do my best. I’ve been meal planning, food prepping, and sticking to my nutrition pretty well.

Then last week, my friend Leigh and I put our heads together and came up with our craziest scheme yet (even bigger than our trip to get tattoos together)… We registered for a physique competition.

Ummm, yeah. I kind of get the dry heaves just typing that.

Never in a MILLION years would I have considered doing this, and I’m still not even sure I made the right decision. But there were a few factors influencing me to submit my registration:

  • It’s free.
  • It’s a Beachbody competition called the Beachbody Classic, and will be held in Nashville this summer.
  • I’m already going to be in Nashville anyway, and so will Leigh.
  • Leigh said she would do it with me, haha. Misery loves company.
  • It’s free. (oh, I said that one already)
  • And here’s the biggest one –>> I push myself to work harder when I have a goal dangled in front of me (kind of like that half-marathon…see a pattern here?).

So we did it. We entered our personal information, laughed (and dry heaved a bit) about it, and then got serious. I think I have researched more on fitness competition training, posing, competition suits, macros, nutrition, etc more than I ever did research in high school. Which makes me think…if teachers wanted us to sharpen our research skills, why didn’t they ever have us research something that interested us or that we were passionate about? I digress…

Last year's competitors... I have a LOT of work to do.

Last year’s competitors… I have a LOT of work to do.

I’ve decided to focus my training right now using 21 Day Fix Extreme (with weights as heavy as I can stand), with running for cardio. Gotta get that 13.1 out of the way first! When school is out and I have more free time on my hands, I’ll add in more Body Beast and heavy lifting workouts to maximize hypertrophy and really whittle down the body fat.

Just to clarify (especially if you are someone who knows me well and has seen me nekked – or even clothed – in the past), I am not doing this because I think I will win. Haha. No. And yeah, I know, power of positive thinking, believe you can, blah blah. I know…but I still don’t expect to win. Ever. Just like I could enter a beauty pageant tomorrow and I wouldn’t win that either. But that’s ok….that isn’t why I’m doing this. I’m doing this because I want to push myself. Remember my last bullet point up there? When I have a goal that I am pushing for, I will cut out my excuses. I will work my arse off to do my best and see just how far I can go. And that’s all I want out of this — to be the best, strongest, fittest version of ME.

When I worked for my trainer in Oklahoma was when I was first exposed to the whole world of bikini/fitness competitions. She trained for her competitions, and she worked HARD. That woman is a BAMF and I could tell how much she had to do to prep for that. It wasn’t something I wanted. It wasn’t something I ever thought I could do. And realistically, I don’t work as hard as she does or have the discipline that she has to get ready for those competitions. BUT…just this once…knowing I have nothing to lose and no set expectations….I know I can do it. I will eat right, I will work hard, and I will get on that stage with my spray tan and my sparkles and I will walk proudly in front of the judges and audience. No jiggly mom butt, no poochy tummy, no fear. And I’ll be able to say I DID IT. That was me.

With no dry heaving. 😉

Leave a Reply

