Life is for living…

I am starting week 3 of the 21 Day Fix Extreme tomorrow, and I’m pretty excited about finishing up, seeing my results, and submitting my pics for my free t-shirt! However, I would be lying if I said I had followed the program for all 21 days without cheats. Here’s why:

For the first week, I was on point. I think I had one little snack one night (Annie’s graham bunnies – the worst junk food I even had in the house) but the rest of the week I resisted temptation. Week two was ok…I felt much stronger with my workouts but didn’t stick to the plan as closely as I would’ve liked. I missed some of my proteins, didn’t eat all my veggies, and added in a few extra fats. Then this weekend…I decided to take a break. Friday night I went to my first NBA game (Go Warriors!) and enjoyed a beer and some Indian food. Mmmmm, naan. Impossible to resist. On Saturday, I knew my daughter would want to celebrate Pi Day, because she’s a total nerd just like her mama. Sure, I could’ve let her bake a pie and just not eaten any, but why? Because I want abs? Because I said I was going to stick to this program and not quit? Well…both are very valid reasons, but honestly, my kid is a better reason. A much bigger reason. So we found a recipe for chocolate pie, I bought the ingredients, she baked, and I enjoyed not one but TWO delicious pieces of pie WITH whipped cream on top. And I enjoyed every last morsel.

pie

I could’ve stopped there, but I didn’t. I also ate a slice of pizza for lunch (it’s just one more type of pie for Pi Day, haha). And for dinner, my boyfriend and I went out to celebrate a friend’s birthday. Sorry, but I had no intentions of eating a salad. I went for the meatballs and polenta, and I merrily celebrated with a lively group. I had a blast. I smiled, I laughed, and I enjoyed time with my friends.

I say this to show you how I feel about all of this health/fitness/clean eating “stuff.” Yes, I love the feeling I get after I exercise. Yes, I can focus on eating well about 80% of the time. But my life isn’t all about sticking to my food plan and killing my body every day. I take rest days from my workouts and rest days from my strict nutrition plan as well. I am happy. I enjoy myself. And I wake up refreshed and ready to get back to it. And for me, that’s ok. 🙂

good for your soul


Amanda

Leave a Reply

