Chicken Fajita Salad

This is one of the simplest, quickest, and most frequently eaten meals at our house. Seriously, I married a former Taco Bell employee. The guy loves Mexican food.

It wasn’t very hard to clean up this meal – I just ditched the flour tortilla and I don’t usually add cheese. Tonight I splurged and added a dollop of sour cream. Still not too bad. 😉

20140106-193839.jpg

So here’s what I use-

*Chicken breasts (I usually get the bag of frozen breasts so I can take out as many or few as I want)
*bell peppers, any color
*One onion
*avocado
*lettuce
*salsa (fresh is best, no sugar added)

I slice the chicken into pieces and put in a pan with a little olive oil. I cook them until they are pretty done, using whatever seasonings I have – usually a homemade taco seasoning or just some Cajun spice and cumin.

Then I add the sliced peppers and onions to the pan, cover with a kid lid (really, autocorrect?) and cook until they are a little wilty. Then I take the lid off and continue cooking until the onions begin to caramelize.

Then I tear up some lettuce in my bowl, add the hot chicken and veggies, and too with salsa and avocado slices. So yummy!

You can totally alter this recipe to suit your dietary preferences and likes/dislikes. The meat can also be changed to steak, ground beef, or shrimp. Mix it up and make it fun.

Leave a Reply

