Sausage, Potato, and Kale Soup

Well, since I’m full from eating last night’s leftovers (two bowls actually), I guess I should go ahead and tell y’all about the recipe like I promised.

If you’ve ever had Zuppa Toscana from Olive Garden, you probably won’t be all that surprised by what I’m about to tell you. However, I haven’t had much soup from the OG, and I haven’t even been there in quite some time. The amount of fat and sodium in the food kinda made me sick the last time. I love their salad and breadsticks, but I have to make it an occasional thing.

So anyway, about this recipe.

I took my inspiration from The Pioneer Woman, genius that she is. Her recipe called for some ingredients that aren’t readily available in my kitchen. And I’m just not a believer in buying certain things just to use in a recipe when I don’t necessarily need them. So I made a few adjustments.

Here’s my version:

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch Kale, Picked Over, Cleaned, And Torn Into Bite Sized Pieces
  • 6 whole Red Potatoes, Sliced Thin
  • 1 small Onion, Chopped
  • 1-1/2 pound Italian Sausage
  • 1/2 teaspoon Red Pepper Flakes (more To Taste)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Dried Oregano
  • 2 cups Low Sodium Vegetable or Chicken Broth
  • 2 – 2.5 cups Whole Milk
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  •  Splash Of Heavy Cream (you don’t HAVE to use this, hubby just happened to grab some from the store while I was cooking)

Preparation Instructions

Prepare the kale and set it aside.

In a medium pot, boil sliced potatoes until tender (or just less than tender). Drain and set aside.

In a large pot, crumble and brown the Italian sausage and chopped onion. Drain as much of the fat as you can (I really didn’t have any fat to drain). Stir in the red pepper flakes, oregano, chicken broth, milk, and butter. Simmer for 30 minutes (or 20 if you are impatient like me).

Give it a taste and adjust seasonings as needed. Add the potatoes, a splash of heavy cream for richness (only if you have it or feel like using it), then stir in the kale. Simmer an additional 10-15 minutes, then serve.

This was enough to serve two bowls for myself, two for my daughter, one or two for my husband, and a very small bowl for my son. He told me I was a terrible cook, but everyone else raved haha. His opinion is invalid. There was also enough leftover for 4 more servings tonight! And if you think kale and potatoes might not be good in a leftover soup – you’re wrong. It was just as good tonight, if not better.

If you’re leaning paleo, you may want to make a few adjustments. Different milk of course, although grassfed butter is generally accepted. Other than that, you’re pretty good to go!

If you decide to make this yummy winter soup, please comment here or on my Healthy and Fit page on Facebook and let me know what you think!

Stay warm!

Leave a Reply

