My First Bountiful Basket!

Can you say lots of food? That’s exactly what I brought home this morning with my first contribution to Bountiful Baskets. I had heard of this concept a while back, but had forgotten about checking it out until my good friend Kana mentioned that she has been getting (and volunteering!) baskets for some time now. So this past Monday, I signed up for an account and scheduled my first pick-up for this weekend. 

Man oh man, I didn’t realize how much food I was getting. Like, REALLY. Who knew how much 21 pounds of pineapple would be?! (Ok, so I guess it’s 21 pounds. I figured they were like 5-7 pounds each. Whoops.) And the variety was the most exciting part for me. I’ve never seen a real vanilla bean. I don’t think I’ve ever had a fresh coconut. And I’ve definitely never heard of a casaba melon. And all of this for only $40. Is it my imagination or is that crazy cheap? I’m tempted to go to the closest grocery store and total up how much it all would cost to buy it from there.

So of course we had to start digging into all of our food as soon as I brought it home. KK was begging for pineapples and mangoes so fast, he couldn’t even remember what he wanted to eat first. While we snacked on some fruit, I began planning what to do with it all. I think tomorrow we will have some roasted carrots with lunch, and maybe some Brussels sprouts for dinner. Roasted in the oven or grilled on hubby’s soon-to-be-new grill for Father’s Day? Not sure which will work best, but either way I’m sure hubs is going to LOVE them. Ha.

But tonight, I had to use up another pineapple…dessert style!! We ate up the food so fast I couldn’t even snap a pic, but we had pan-fried fish (cajun seasoning and a squirt of lemon) with a side of garlic green beans and some brown rice mixed with salsa. I put some fresh pineapple slices on a pan – rubbed some foil down with coconut oil first to prevent sticking – and dusted them with cinnamon. I found the recipe here and it was a HUGE hit with everyone! Not a bite left.

Maybe tomorrow we can throw some pineapple slices on the grill. Mmmmm.

4 thoughts on “My First Bountiful Basket!

  1. Dinah Houston says:

    I put your link up on my Feeding Ger Sasser facebook fan page. (And, I left you a suggestion for those brussel sprouts on my Roasted Pineapple with Cinnamon recipe on feedinggersasser.blogspot.com….)

    Like

  2. Amy McCulley says:

    Wow!!! I can’t wait to finally have my OWN kitchen again. I’ll definitely have to invest in this…:). Thnks for posting!!

    Like

  3. Dinah Houston says:

    Hey, I thought of you and your pineapples while I was making my Paleo Pineapple Whip the other day. (It’s like pineapple soft-serve – 3 clean ingredients – raw honey, organic coconut milk, and fresh pineapple that’s been frozen. We’ve fallen in love with this stuff and do Peach Whip, Raspberry Pineapple Whip, Blueberry Whip, you get the picture….)

    Like

Leave a Reply

