Shakeology Cleanse, Days 2 and 3

Kinda hard to blog when your internet isn’t reliable. Hmph. Anyway, I ended up modifying the cleanse on days 2 and 3. I started out day 2 on track – had my green tea first thing in the morning. That didn’t go so well for me. Not sure if it’s my sensitive stomach or what, but I felt a little queasy after drinking the tea. Once I had my shake for breakfast, things got better. Then I was good until around 2:00-3:00 when I slipped into a total slump. No energy. I even fell asleep on the couch while K was napping. I woke up and decided that wasn’t going to work for me, so I ate an orange and a baggie of cashews. That made me feel a lot better, and I didn’t feel bad at all for snacking on clean foods since my body clearly needed it. Here’s what day 2 looked like:

Breakfast: green tea, plain; chocolate shakeology with water and ice
AM snack: whole grapefruit, peeled, no sweetener
Lunch: chocolate shakeology with water and ice (skipped the green tea)
PM snack: orange and cashews (skipped the 3rd shakeology)
Dinner: spinach salad topped with onions and mushrooms sauteed in olive oil, 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar, 3 sweet mini peppers

I also lifted weights doing ChaLEAN Extreme Push circuit 3. BOOM.

So yesterday, when I got up, I decided to continue the modified schedule. Here is day 3:

Breakfast: decaf coffee with 1 packet Stevia and 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk; chocolate shakeology with water and ice
AM snack: one pear with 1 Tbsp natural peanut butter
Lunch: regular coffee with 1 packet Stevia and 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk; serving of reduced fat Triscuits (I know, I know, but I was busy and preoccupied and stressed and I actually forgot to eat real food)
PM snack: low fat string cheese
Dinner: baked cod, steamed asparagus, organic sweet corn
Evening snack: decaf coffee with stevia and almond milk, serving of almonds (can you tell decaf coffee is my fix when I need sweets? 😉 )

My feelings on the cleanse….

It’s great, if you can stick to it. Even if you modify it, you should see results. One full day on the cleanse caused me to drop 2.8 pounds of extra weight and waste. I really can’t tolerate the green tea very well, so that’s not something I would do again. I also would like to have variety in shakeology flavors because while I love the chocolate, drinking it 3x/day for 3 days gets old. But even with modifications on the second day (plus weight lifting, which usually causes me to retain water in my muscles), I dropped another pound – 3.8 pounds total in 3 days. And after the 3rd day, I still didn’t gain any weight back. I weighed exactly the same this morning as I did yesterday morning. And I know because I will keep working out and eating these clean foods (lots of fruits, veggies, and lean protein), I will not gain that weight back.

I think as long as you listen to your body and do what you feel is right (eating that orange and nuts when you need energy), you will have success with the cleanse. It’s definitely something I will try again in the future. It’s recommended to be done quarterly, or whenever you may reach a plateau and need an extra boost. I think it would be good to try after any time when you get off track, such as a vacation or holiday packed with food. All I know is I feel much better today than I did earlier in the week, which means I met my goal!!

Leave a Reply

