30 Day Results

I’m a little nervous and hesitant about posting this today, but I feel like I’ll do better if I put myself out there. Take a risk. Publicly announce how I’ve done in the past month, and set myself up for the next 30 days. It’s all about accountability.

First, a little background: I’ve never been fat. Never been teased about my weight. Actually, I’ve had a lot of people tell me that I had a good body, or I was skinny. I ate whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted. Heck, I used to be a Miller Girl on the weekends, back in my single days. I was mostly a size 6, and during my divorce from my first husband, I had my first experience with a gym. I hired a trainer and really toned up. I didn’t stick with it though, and ended up slipping back into being mostly sedentary.

In Dec 2007, I married my current husband. Of course, I went to the gym sporadically until our wedding, trying to look as good as I could in my wedding dress. I was somewhere in the low 130s, somewhat toned up but nothing spectacular. I had my trouble spots (ahem, THIGHS). Then 2 months later, I got pregnant. And all hell broke loose. I ate and ate and ate. And then I miscarried. And I ate some more. We went out to eat often, and it was nothing for me to throw down a bacon cheeseburger, fries, and a margarita at Chili’s a few times a month. And that’s just ONE example. In November of 2008, I got pregnant again. By the time I saw that positive pee stick, I was already wearing the elastic waist pants I had bought 8 months before during my failed pregnancy. I wasn’t even “showing” yet – I was just chubby.

During my pregnancy with KK I went from around 140 to 186 on the day I gave birth. That’s a lot. He was a big baby, but I had no business gaining that much weight. My doctors now think I probably had gestational diabetes and just wasn’t diagnosed. I quickly dropped back down to the 160s after having him, and found my way into the 150s a few months later. I joined a gym co-op when KK was a baby and worked my way into the 140s. I was so happy to be back to my pre-baby weight…but I really wanted to be back to my pre-pre-baby weight. I wanted my Miller Girl body back – the body that snagged my husband. I didn’t feel attractive and I didn’t feel like I was good enough for my husband.

So off and on, I worked out, trying different things. I worked out to videos at home, and I worked out at the gym. I got into running and even completed my first half marathon last year. I was happy with my running accomplishments, but I still wasn’t where I wanted to be. I wasn’t happy in my skin. I tried to eat healthy foods sometimes, but I lacked the complete dedication and motivation to really stick with it. I needed a plan.

I saw my friend, Kelly, post a link on facebook about her progress. She had lost SO MUCH WEIGHT just by eating clean, drinking Shakeology, and doing workouts at home. She’d tried to talk to me about it before, but I wasn’t ready. I didn’t want to spend the money. Shoot, I didn’t even have a job! How can I justify dropping more money on something else when I rarely even used my gym membership? But something about it pulled me in, and I said I would do it. So I signed up as a coach (wooot 25% discount!!) and I got started. I got rid of ALL of the unclean foods in my house, I read up on clean eating, I had Kelly hold my hand every step of the way until I felt like I was able to do it on my own.  And now look. 🙂

For 30 days I have been eating clean (ok, that’s more like 45 days), drinking my Shakeology, and doing ChaLEAN Extreme 5 days a week. I’ve supplemented just a little – some extra ab workouts here and there, some short easy runs on occasion. But for the most part I just spend 30-40 minutes a day working out at home. Here are my results:

Slide1 Slide2 Slide3Like I said, I’m pretty nervous about putting this out there for everyone to see. I am very much not comfortable showing this much of my body, and I still would not want to be at a pool or at a beach in my bathing suit. BUT – it’s ok because I know that I’m improving. I can see the progress, even though my body is still not the body I want. And I know I’m not done! I started phase 2 of my workout today and BOYYY am I feeling it!! I lifted so heavy that it was difficult to just scoop out the powder for my shake afterwards, haha. I expect to see some nice tone at the end of May. Oh – and today I reached my goal weight!! I had planned to be 135 by today, and this morning I weighed in at 135.6. WOOOOOT!!. I don’t even know what goal weight to set next – I’m just excited for some muscles!

 

Leave a Reply

