Reflections on April, Ramblings

Well…it’s almost the end of April. I started doing ChaLEAN Extreme on March 31, which puts me almost 30 days into this program. I can say, without a doubt, that I have some AMAZING results. It may not be that noticeable to other people, but I can tell a huge difference in myself.

I stopped drinking sodas somewhere in March. I did have a few sips of Hub’s sodas when we were camping last month, but I haven’t bought any or drank any since then. For the most part, we haven’t had fast food since the beginning of March, either. On a long trip to the beach and back, I did make a fast food stop for one meal each way. I had planned for the trip fairly well, but not quite well enough.

I have eaten clean foods about 80-90% of the time during the past month. I’ve cut out almost all added sugar (there is a small amount here and there). I’ve cut way back on breads, pasta, rice. I have had very little beer or wine. I mostly load up on fresh fruits, veggies, lean meats, and healthy snacks. I’ve also been drinking Shakeology about 5-6 days a week, getting tons of nutrition.

During this past month, I’ve been told my eyes are whiter, I look good, my arms are showing definition, I look like I’ve lost weight, my legs are looking nicer…and my daughter has simply said, “You’re different.” And she’s right. I am. I have a feeling like I’ve never had before. Happiness and such a positive outlook every single day. That’s not to say I don’t get grumpy or down or tired. I do. It happens. But I am LOVING who I am right now. I am so happy with myself because I know that when I want something, I’m going to work hard and bust my butt to get it. I know I’m strong. I can tell how much stronger I’m getting each day – with working out and with eating. My patience with my kids is better than it’s ever been. My energy levels are higher than before. And I’ve lost weight! About 9 pounds so far, though that really isn’t the most important thing to me. I want to be happy in my skin. I want to be toned and lean and strong. My end weight isn’t even something I’m that concerned about. I want to be healthy.

I’m so excited about what I’m doing and where I’m going that I just can’t stop myself from wanting to infect everyone else around me, hoping that they catch on to this, too. And maybe some people aren’t ready for that, so they might not listen. They might push me away or hide me from their news feed on Facebook. That’s ok. But if I can let this domino on to one other person, I will be happy.

I’ve started this blog, hoping to put information out there to help someone. My friends, my family, and even strangers who may stumble across it. I started a clean eating group on Facebook to give even more support to friends and family members who are really ready to take an active step towards eating better and being healthier. I am helping another Beachbody coach with a monthly exercise group, so we can give support to those who want to be more fit and see changes in their bodies. Something I am doing has to work. It has to help someone out there. And that is my goal.

Leave a Reply

