Blueberry Muffins, Mason Jar Salads, and other ramblings

What a weekend. With all of the rain we’ve had, plus little KK getting sick, this weekend REALLY did not go as I’d planned. I don’t think I got much of anything accomplished, other than some grocery shopping and meal prep today. But that’s life. I did squeeze in my workout this morning, after a nice IV drip of coffee (someone ruined my sleep last night). Lucky I got it in when I did, before KK’s fever started spiking again. 😦

Oh – and after two weeks of working out…I’ve already outgrown my weights. 😮 !!! That’s right. I need something heavier than 15 pounds. Mama is growing some MUSCLES. Woot! I am so anxious to see what my 30 day pictures and measurements are going to look like. I can already see a difference in the shape of my legs. Can’t wait!

Ok, on to food.

This afternoon, I baked the blueberry muffins that I’d planned for in my weekly menu. They were so good! Maybe even sweeter than I’d like, so I might cut back on the honey next time. Again, I used regular white flour instead of whole wheat, since that’s what I had. But they are still healthier than muffins with tons of white sugar, butter, and chemicals!

Then I moved on (after eating a muffin) to prepping my salad jars. I used this page as a reference for layering the ingredients, and I made this dressing earlier in the day so the flavors could mix. For easier viewing, here is the recipe:

  • 1 teaspoon dried or 2 teaspoons fresh rosemary, chopped

  • 4 tablespoons white wine vinegar

  • 4 tablespoons olive oil

  • ½ small clove garlic, crushed and finely chopped

  • 1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper

  • ¼ teaspoon salt

Place all ingredients in a jar and shake until the dressing is well blended. Alternately, you can vigorously whisk the ingredients in a small bowl until they are completed incorporated together.

Makes 4 servings.

I was a liiiitle unsure about making this. I don’t think I’ve ever used white wine vinegar, and I didn’t really want to have to buy it especially for this recipe. What if I hated it? Well, not a problem because I LOVED this dressing. And apparently, so did my daughter because she basically used a strip of bell pepper, and probably her finger, to lick the bowl clean. I didn’t have just rosemary, so I used 1.5 tsp of the Italian seasoning in my cabinet. I will be making more of this and keeping it on hand in the fridge. It’s THAT good.

So I started out with the dressing, and since the recipe says it makes 4 servings, I just divided it evenly between 4 jars. It seems a little scant, so I may double the recipe next time. I’ll report back and let you know if it was really enough.

???????????????????????????????

I put a few pieces of diced onions on the bottom layer, so they could marinate in the dressing. Then went in the last of some mushrooms I had in the fridge. After that was grape tomatoes, diced red bell peppers, a few baby carrots, and the last of some green olives I wanted to use up. On top of it all was as much spinach as I could pack into the jar. Apparently the container of spinach I had was just ONE SERVING (5 oz looks like a lot!!), but it was enough to divide between the 4 jars. Then I put on the lids, and that’s it!

004

Aren’t they so pretty and colorful?? I’m actually excited to eat them. And the best part is that it took me mayyybe 10 minutes to get everything together. And now when I’m ready for lunch, I just reach in and grab a jar, then shake it a little and dump it out on a plate! I think tomorrow I’ll add a few slices of avocado since I need to use it before it dies. And maybe a little leftover cold chicken breast. Next week, I’m already thinking of putting some chickpeas in the bottom. They should be yummy with all of that flavored dressing, right? I think so. If you try to make some yourself, please leave me a comment and let me know what you use! I like new ideas.

005

Leave a Reply

