Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers

I bought some bell peppers last week to make this recipe, but today I forgot to buy ground turkey meat at the store. So I searched for a different recipe and found this one. Only…I didn’t have half the ingredients it called for either! So I improvised. 🙂 Here’s what I did:

Ingredients:
3 large bell peppers (you could use 4 medium sized ones)
about a can’s worth of frozen peas and carrots – because they needed to be used
a can of Rotel, partially drained
a can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 cup quinoa
1 1/4 cup chicken broth
few shakes of garlic powder, cumin, oregano, salt, and pepper
3 Tbsp lime juice
some shaved Parmesan cheese

I cooked up the quinoa and other stuffing ingredients the way the recipe instructed me to. Then stuffed them and baked them. I let my peppers go a little longer at the end than the 10 minutes it suggested. They turned out great! My kids thought they were a little spicy because of the Rotel, so I added a little sour cream to theirs. I ate the insides of one whole pepper and I am still full 2 hours later. Super easy, cheap, and healthy!

Leave a Reply

