Planning and Shopping

I have found that the number one key for me to stay on track is to plan. If I don’t plan my meals and workouts for the week, I end up doing the “waddar we gonna eat?” dance in the kitchen when my tummy rumbles, and then I either make a bad choice or get fast food.

So last night, (after I sucked it up and did my work out after all, woot woot!!) I looked through my fridge and cabinets to see what we had on hand – because you always start with what you have – and came up with a few meal and snack ideas. I had bought a few bell peppers last week, so stuffed bell peppers went on the menu. We also have lots of Easter eggs, so boiled eggs are good for a few days. We are going out of town this weekend, so I made a few easy snack and meal ideas for those days. Yes, I am so dedicated that I will pack snacks and sandwiches for us to eat on the road. It is the only way I can be sure to stay on track.

week of april 1

I made a grocery list to fill in the gaps for what we were missing, and off to the store I went. I stuck to my list pretty well, and only grabbed one impulse item – these neat looking organic crackers that I thought might be good with a little cheese. Mmmm, cheese.

photo-1 (2)

In all, I spent about $39 on food for this week. I already had the meat and bread I needed, plus the ingredients to make my protein bars (which I forgot to make today, so that plan needs to be adjusted). I do plan to eat out a few times while we are out of town, so that causes a little bit of difference in our food budget. But overall, I’d say it looks like a pretty quick, healthy, and affordable week!

Leave a Reply

